UPSC Notes: Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction

Sendai Framework is a guiding plan for disaster risk management for the period of 2015-30 with 7 targets and 4 action priorities. It is the successor to erstwhile Hyogo Framework for Action. In my previous post I had summarized the Disaster Management chapter of 2nd ARC Report.

  • Voluntary and non-binding
  • The state has the primary role in disaster risk reduction but it needs to involve local govt., private sector and public
  • The goal is to substantially reduce risk and losses of lives, livelihoods, economic losses, cultural, physical, social and environmental assets.

7 Targets of Sendai Framework

  1. Substantial reduction of mortality of both humans and livestock
  2. Substantial reduction of number of people affected
  3. Substantial reduction of economic losses in terms of GDP
  4. Substantial reduction of loss of critical infrastructure
  5. Increase in number of countries with national and local strategies
  6. Increase international cooperation in disaster risk reduction
  7. Access to multi-hazard early warning systems

4 Action Priorities of Sendai Framework

  1. Understanding Disaster Risk in all of its dimensions
  2. Strengthening Disaster Risk Governance
  3. Investing in Disaster Risk Management
  4. Enhancing preparedness, Build Back Better (3B), Rehabilitation, Reconstruction and Recovery (3R)

The BRICS Udaipur Declaration also reflected the BRICS’ committment to the Sendai Framework. The 2016 national Disaster Management Plan also relies heavily on the guidelines provided by Sendai Framework.


1 thought on “UPSC Notes: Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top